A Conjuring of Light by V.E.Schwab | Book Review

aconjuringoflightheading

I’ll admit that I am genuinely quite upset that this trilogy has come to a close. When I picked up A Darker Shade of Magic I had no idea how quickly I would begin to love the characters and the story. Yes, I didn’t like the second book as much as I thought I would but overall this trilogy is simply phenomenal and here are my thoughts on the final book A Conjuring of Light…

(Note: I recommend not reading this review if you have not read the previous two books in the series as I will be comparing this to the other books in the trilogy.)

 aconjuringoflight

Goodreads Link | Book Depository Link

The precarious equilibrium among the four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise. Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never a common-thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry.

Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery and the Night Spire crew are attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible, as an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown and a fallen hero is desperate to save a decaying world…’

June 2017 TBR

I generally feel like it’s a good sign for a trilogy if I immediately buy the next book after reading one of them and this is exactly what happened throughout the Shades of Magic trilogy for me. As my reviews have shown throughout reading this trilogy, this is now up there as one of my favourite trilogies. A Conjuring of Light is not what I expected but I still adored it.

As usual, let’s talk about the characters. The characters in this series and this book are so well-developed and are consistent throughout. I still adore Kell and Rhy and the opening section of this book essentially tore my heart to pieces, and whilst I still don’t personally like the character of Lila as much, she was still written and presented extremely well. This book also included the King and Queen of the Maresh Empire, who, as readers, we’d only see glimpses of previously. Generally speaking, I think it is fair to say that each and every character in this book, no matter how minor to the plot they are, are all written beautifully and are developed accordingly which is something I’ve loved whilst reading this trilogy.

I adored the plot of this book, much like I did with A Darker Shade of Magic and to my joy, it felt like Kell’s ability to travel between different Londons was actually relevant -which was what drew me to read this trilogy in the first place. Another thing is book did well which I enjoyed was revealing the stories behind other characters other than the aforementioned trio above. However, for one character, Holland (who I have failed to mention in previous blog posts), this left me with a number of unanswered questions which I really want answered but honestly, I don’t mind that at all. This trilogy ended in such a great way which made me feel happy as a reader who was emotionally invested in the characters.

As you may expect, much like the other books written by Schwab, the writing style is quite simply brilliant. It’s accessible and I didn’t feel as I were getting lost at all whilst reading – which is a great feeling, especially when you’re faced with a 600+ page book. I found myself laughing and crying over this book – yes, actual tears fell down my face. Schwab writes in set a beautiful yet simple way which I adore and I desperately want to read more of her work.

If you want to read a fantasy series but done in such as different way to what is usually seen today, I urge you to give this trilogy a try. Whilst I do understand that this may not be everyone’s cup of tea, just by scrolling through the reviews on Goodreads it can be seen that this book has very few negative reviews. This book is a beautiful way to finish the trilogy and the trilogy as a whole is fantastic and it has made its way onto my favourites.

Rated: 5 stars.

nexttime

One thought on “A Conjuring of Light by V.E.Schwab | Book Review

  1. Ahh I’m glad you loved this book! You’re the only person I’ve seen who doesn’t like Lila! Though to be fair, I don’t talk about this trilogy as often as I should to know who are the popular characters or not ahaha 😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

