My Reading Journey

readingjourney

As this blog is definitely a bookish blog at its heart, I thought it would be a good idea to explain to you how I ended up here with this blog and the iconic books which really got me into reading. It’s a relatively straightforward story but anyway, here is my reading journey…

It was never particularly clear that I would develop into as much of a bookworm as I am today. As a child I didn’t show a particularly large interest in books or reading for my own leisure; I did however like the idea of owning books and I did own a few books which remained barely read. 

At some point in my early teenage years, I can remember asking my mum to see if my local library had a book I wanted to read – they didn’t, but she did find another book by the same author. The book that she brought back was called To the Moon and Back by Jill Mansell which I read surprisingly quickly for someone who had never read a huge amount and I think I would say that this book was the one which kick-started my reading. To this day, I have a collection of Jill Mansell’s books in case I ever feel like reading a little bit of romance.

Around this time, I also had an interest in a book series – the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy. I remember buying the first three books in town at once and it would be fair to say that these books were the first series I was interested in and I continued to wait impatiently for the next book to be released. The first one book of this series remains to be one of my well-loved books (which I intend to do a blog post on soon.)

After those books, I began asking for books for my birthday and various family members did give me a few books, which started my ‘serious’ book collection. I brought a new bookshelf which still stands at the end of my bed. One of the books that first sat on those shelves was Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli which is a relatively short book, I devoured that quickly and it quickly became a favourite, and still is to this day. It’s genuinely a book I recommend to everyone if they need a recommendation. 

I feel like I should mention Harry Potter because I was fairly late to the party on those books. I was well into my teenage years before I’d even watched any of the films. The first Harry Potter book I remember reading was Order of the Phoenix because I had watched the film when it was shown on TV and really liked it. Soon enough, I did read the series (in the correct order) and earlier this year, I reread them. They aren’t perfect but I still adore them. 

As a said, it’s a fairly straightforward story. From that moment my book collection just kept growing. One bookshelf in my room became two and I’m now putting books wherever I can – on top of my drawers, on my desk, in various drawers. However there are other notable books and series which I really want to mention because they definitely have contributed to my love for books. The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare definitely really opened the door to fantasy for me as a reader and the same applies to the Shades of Magic trilogy by V.E. Schwab because even though they are a recent read, they definitely confirmed that fantasy is one of my favourite genres out there. To mix things up a little, I’m going to throw in a non-fiction book, Girl Up by Laura Bates which definitely opened me up to feminist literature and non-fiction writing in general.

I suppose I should explain how this blog came about as well. In about October 2016, I decided that I wanted to start a blog, just a general blog to keep me writing and to give me a good focus in my life. At the beginning of 2017, I started my bookstagram account (@beawareofbooks), which introduced me to an entire world of book lovers and I eventually decided that it would make sense to push this blog in a bookish direction and that’s how I ended up here. 

And that wraps up my little and simple reading journey and how I ended up with this bookish blog. Although my book collection is a little overwhelming, I am always looking for recommendations, so if you have a favourite book feel free to drop it in the comments and if I haven’t read it and it sounds interesting, I’ll pop it in my to read pile!

nexttime

Leave a Reply

