All That She Can See by Carrie Hope Fletcher | Book Review

allthatshecanseeheading

I genuinely had no idea what to expect when I ordered this book. I had my suspicions and thoughts about what the plot of the story may be and to an extent I was right but I was also surprised and honestly, a little disappointed. I really wanted to love this book, I honestly did but I have a few issues. Fortunately, I also have some praise for this book so let’s get into my thoughts…

allthatshecansee

Goodreads Link | Book Depository Link

‘Feeling are part of life – feelings are life. If you take away what people feel, you take away anything meaningful. Wanting to diminish the evil in this world is a good cause, one I have fought for the majority of my life, but not like this…

Cherry has a hidden talent. She can see things other people can’t, and she decided a long time ago to use this skill to help others. As far as the rest of the town is concerned she’s simply the kind-hearted young woman who runs the local bakery, but in private she uses her gift to add something special to her cakes so that after just one mouthful the townspeople start to feel better about their lives. They don’t know why they’re drawn into Cherry’s bakery – they just know that they’re safe there, and that’s how Cherry likes it. She can help them in secret and no one will ever need to know the truth behind her gift.

And then Chase turns up and threatens to undo all the good Cherry has done. Because it turns out she’s not the only one who can see what she sees…’

warningsallthatshecansee

June 2017 TBR

This book left me feeling a little confused and honestly, a little disappointed. I’m definitely not saying that I dislike it, but I don’t love it either. Often after I’ve had time to digest a book, my opinions change or solidify and for this, I was just underwhelmed. For me personally, it’s not memorable, it does however have such an important message behind it.

For me, the plot was the part of the book which disappointed me the most. When this book was announced and I knew the basic premise, I was excited and intriged to see where this book would go. However, about half-way through the story it felt as though this book shifted from a cute romance novel (which I had prepared myself for) to a YA fantasy/dystopian book and whilst I don’t mind those genres of novel and I didn’t necessarily dislike it, it left me as a reader confused. 

When it comes to the characters in this book, I had no problems. Cherry Redgrave is a good protagonist who is quirky, a woman of colour and means to do good things and whilst I enjoyed reading about her, at times I found her a little frustrating. The other character to note is Chase and I didn’t find him disagreeable, he was fine. In fact, it’s fair to say that the majority of the characters in this book are okay, just not particularly memorable and whilst I could see the effort to develop some characters, I just didn’t get that personally. On the subject on characters, one of my praises for this book is the representation. Our protagonist is a woman of colour and there is some representation of the LGBT+ spectrum and I genuinely appreciate that. 

The writing is where my biggest issue springs up. For me the pacing of the book did not sit quite right. Put simply, the beginning felt a little too slow for my liking and the ending too quick. As soon as the novel appeared to head into a different direction, it all felt a little rushed. Even the romance in the novel felt a tad rushed, suddenly Cherry was in love with the man she’d been arguing with only a few chapters beforehand and it just didn’t fit with the pace of the novel. At times the narrative jumped to different points of view and to be honest as a reader I don’t have massive issues with it as I definitely think it can work and as a reader, I can imagine myself getting bored reading from one single perspective for 300+ pages of a book.

My favourite thing about this book however is the message it sends out, so much as that I have marked some quotes in the book for future reference. The message of this book is something that I am a strong believer in anyway and that is that although negative feelings can be seen as bad, that isn’t necessarily the way as they can build us as people, develop our very own character and we can and do exist with them. Something I feel like everyone needs reminding from time to time and this book had a beautiful way in which doing it. 

Rated: 3 stars.

Leave a Reply

