Thank you for the comfort… | An Open Letter to a Well-Loved Book

anopenletterhp

Well, today was a bit horrible. In fact, ‘a bit’ is an understatement. I haven’t had a day like this in a while. Without getting into the details, I have felt angry, upset, hurt and confused – mostly confused. So yes, overall, pretty horrible.

I’ve always been very in touch with my emotions, so I cried for a while with music on – not that I could recall the songs that played, I wasn’t paying much attention. But after I had allowed my emotions to pour (and believe me, they did pour) I needed a pick me up rather urgently.

I knew exactly which world I wanted to escape to but I didn’t have time to actually sit down and read – I had stuff to get done. Thankfully, I remembered that I had access to the audiobook of the book I wanted to dive into. That book was you.

Whilst I was sorting my life out, I was listening to the story you told, which I had read myself numerous times but this experience was different. I don’t have much experience with audiobooks but there’s definitely something different about listening to a story as opposed to reading it.

I ended up sat on my chair, just listening to someone read me your story. Totally forgetting everything that had been getting to me. I’d never really needed a book in order to escape reality before but I’m glad you were here to comfort me. I’m glad I allowed myself to listen to something as I worked.

Something to make me feel better.”

 

Leave a Reply

