Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan | Book Review

lightningthiefheading

I first heard of this book a few years ago when one of my friends had mentioned it in passing and I was given this by my friend Ella after she had recommended it to me and due to being away on holiday and feeling a little ill for a few days, it took me a while for me to get through it. I finally managed to get it read and as per, here are my thoughts…

lightningthief

Goodreads Link | Book Depository Link

Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. I never asked to be the son of a Greek God.

I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. Now I spend my time battling monsters and generally trying to stay alive.

This is the one where Zeus, god of the sky, thinks I’ve stolen his lightning bolt – and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea.’

June 2017 TBR

I honestly don’t know where to start with this book because whilst I found the book enjoyable, I can’t remember very many specific details and it’s only been a few days since I finished it.

Overall the characters for me were enjoyable unless it was clear that they weren’t meant to be liked. Percy Jackson as our protagonist and our narrator was okay. I found it easy to sympathise with his situation at the beginning of the book but other than that I can’t say that I particularly cared for him throughout the rest of the book. The other characters in the book are also okay but I don’t find any particularly memorable and I probably couldn’t recall many of the characters from memory – even the characters who spent a large portion of the book with Percy himself.

Right, the plot. Again, overall the plot was enjoyable and I enjoyed the premise when I first read the synopsis of the book. However, something which annoyed me as a reader was the fact that in what felt like every chapter (especially towards the end) something went wrong. It felt like the characters couldn’t do anything without something getting in the way! Although this annoyed me, I do understand that: 1) what else can you expect when you’ve angered a Greek God and 2) this book is aimed at people younger than me, so I can see why there is a necessity for action throughout the book. 

Riordan’s writing in this book is fantastically accessible do I can see this book is appealing to children (and older reader’s if they didn’t want to challenge themselves.) I know some people have stated that Riordan’s writing is funny but personally I didn’t get that. I only found myself chuckling at the names of the chapters and even then, I had to go back to look at them after reading the chapters. The structure of this book also worked well. The first person perspective definitely allowed myself as a reader to connect with Percy more and I feel like if the book was written in the third person, I wouldn’t have cared about him as a character at all.

At the end of the day, this book is good. I can’t deny that but for me, at this point in my life, it is not for me. I could easily see this book being appealing for 9-12 year old’s who are the intended target audience (so I’ve been informed.) I think myself as a 12-year-old would have enjoyed it a lot more than I do now. However, I do not see myself continuing this series in the foreseeable future.

Rated: 3 stars.

 

5 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan | Book Review

  1. I get your point when you say you might’ve enjoyed it more when you were younger. I had the same feeling after reading this book. Percy feels a little childish when you aren’t the age the book was meant for. On the other hand, I do have to say that the sequels get better and feel less childish! It also helped that I was looking forward to finding out more about Riordan’s way of incorporating mythology in the sequels, though.

    But I still thought it was worth reading them all, haha.

    Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there are just some books that don’t transcend their target audience or genre; this appears to be one of them. It isn’t bad but it isn’t anything groundbreaking or fantastic either. It kind of exists for 9 to 12 year olds and them alone, I think, with some exceptions. Thanks for keeping honest in your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: August 2017 Wrap-Up | be aware of books

Leave a Reply

